Guidance relating to Covid-19 can be found by clicking on the 'white' bar.

Celebration Event 7 Dec 2020

Date: 7th Dec 2020 Author: Tony Rees

It was marvellous to be able to see nearly 60 of you plus our County Commissioner Graham at this our second annual Thank You /Celebration Event, although the first by Zoom. We know many of you missed the clamour of conversation and a festive meet up with old friends and acquaintances in pleasant surroundings, oh and of course, the buffet, however, we do hope for this in the future.

‘Thank You’ to all the adult volunteers who have made such a success of Scouting in Bristol South over what has been, to say the least, a very ‘eventful’ and challenging year, where ideas have not just been ‘outside of the box’, on some occasions even the box has disappeared!

The awards office at HQ had been closed for a while hence the catch up with a variety of awards and wood badges being made over the previous few weeks and reported elsewhere in the ‘News’ pages.

Tonight we got to say a really special local thank you and congratulations to those who, in the eyes of their fellow volunteers, colleagues and the young people and parents in the district deserve recognition for all that they do for our young members, from the youngest Beaver to the oldest Explorer and for one another. 2020 was a year full of plans which all ended abruptly so rising to the challenge and living up to the motto ‘Be Prepared’ they certainly did.

The ‘Lockdown Video’ can be viewed on the ‘Volunteers Facebook Page’ .

18 true ‘Scouts’ were recognised by their piers for their efforts  with a ‘District Thank You‘ (in no particular order)

Lisa Dart – 11th
Bob Stanfield – District
John (Moe) Jones – District
Graham (Baggles) Shaddick – District
Jeremy Perrett – 256th
Sadie Paterson – 81st
Ian Fumpson -256th
Laurie Marsh – 256th
Anne Baines – 229th
Alan & Rose Nicholls – District
Simone Clements – 145th
Tony Rees – District
Paul Duckett – 107th
Lousie Elcox – 107th
Lewis Spindlove – Windmill Hill
Jen Cave-Ayland – 145th
Tracey Stevenson-Gay – Super Nova Explorers
‘The Baines Family’ – 229th

Plus 6 receiving a ‘Commissioner’s Commendation’ 

Charmaine Wheatley – Windmill Hill
Aaron Wheatley – Windmill Hill
Tanya Bracey-148th
Simon Weetch – 256th
Martin Squire – 107th
Barry Stubbins -District

On behalf of all of the ‘District Team’ thank you for attending the ‘Zoom Event’ and also for all you have done and continue to do for the benefit of young people in the district. We wish you all the best for the festive season and ‘fingers crossed’ it won’t be to long before we can all meet again in 2021. The days of the green ‘traffic light’ are eagerly awaited.

Stay Safe

– – – – – – – – – – –

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls